To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Due to the substantial rise in population, some people believe that edible insects are an alternative food source for humans. Nevertheless, many people argue that eating insects are unhealthy and have a negative impact on nature. In my opinion, there are many other possible solutions for food support. Firstly, edible insects such as, worms and grasshoppers have many benefits to the environment and help balance the ecosystem. For example, worms are the main food source for other animals such as chickens and fish. The idea of consuming edible insects in humans will significantly reduce the number of insects in nature which will create drastic effects on the number of other plants and animals. In addition, many types of insects can be poisonous and lethal to humans, and eating insects could be risky. Also, insects are considered non-hygienic due to their habitat and food source. Furthermore, apparently there are other alternative food sources such as fruits, vegetables, rice and corn that are safer and easier to cultivate. However, in some cultures such as Thailand, it is common for people to consume insects for example fried worms and fried grasshoppers. With the advantages of the availability in the area, cheaper price or even free and considered more nutritious than other types of meats, especially in protein. Some people still believe that eating insects have more benefits than drawbacks. In conclusion, from my personal view, consuming insects can be risky for humans and negatively impacts nature. Additionally, there are many other food sources available which are healthier and easier to cultivate.