In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the driverless system on vehicles has brought some advantages to both commuters and businesses which will change the role of people to be only passengers. While there are beneficial consequences of this development, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are some advantages of the driverless system in vehicles which are convenience and cost-saving in terms of time since this system does not require people to drive manually, leading people to have more time doing other work along with the trip. Likewise, this system will help commuters manage their time more effectively because they do not worry about finding any parking lot when they get to their destinations. Moreover, personal transport will be much easier as people do not need a driver’s license to prove their qualifications or they can avoid trouble when they are drunk while driving. As a result, people tend to purchase their own cars more than they do in the past which will contribute to an increase in national consumption and benefit the economy as a whole. On the other hand, despite its advantages, these must be considered against the disadvantages of not having people control the vehicles. Firstly, this platform is not guaranteed overall safety since sometimes the malfunction problem could happen with automation, leading passengers to face unexpected accidents. As a result, the vehicles that people can drive are safer when uncontrol situations occur in order to enhance proper decisions on the roads. Secondly, some kinds of jobs will be disrupted such as taxi drivers or bus drivers which will affect the national unemployment rate rising and create some conflicts in society regarding the advancement of technology. In addition, the innovation without people controlling in hand will possibly hinder any further development since the problems will be unnoticeable, also this can lead to a decrease in public awareness of safe driving. In conclusion, I believe that the drawbacks of the driverless system are greater than the benefits. Despite convenience and time saving, this tool could not confirm the total safety of passengers, make some careers to be disappeared in nearly future, and possibly block the improvement of essential knowledge in the long run.