It is nowadays seen that many students are part-time employed. Discuss advantages and disadvantages

Nowadays, many school attendees have paid jobs they do while carrying on attending their classes in school. This sort of practice has pros and cons associated with it. For this reason, it is imperative that considerations are made on how beneficial it is for the school -child. The following essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this system of education. The rising cost of the tuition fees in the modern educational institutions has been a major factor, for which, those whom this becomes challenging for their parents or guardians, being employed while attending school will to some extent if not completely, overcome the challenge of affording their school fees. This is because the funds generated from jobs will go a long way in offsetting the students' expenses in their schools. Another case in point, is the experience the student who works part-time can garner from their workplace which can prove useful in a practical sense in understanding the knowledge gained in school. For instance, in learning, a student may be able to relay an experience at work with what is being taught in class. This sort of experience from work could also prove useful in future for such an individual in having a good work -academic pursuit balance. These reasons are few amongst others, why working while in school could be beneficial. Even though having a part-time job while in school could be beneficial, there is some downside to this practice, one of which, includes the fact that this student will have to share his/her time in between academic and work activities. The problem associated with this is the reduced commitment these individuals will have toward their academic pursuit, which, should at this stage of their life, be a priority. Again, issues at the workplace can affect the school child emotionally, physically and/or psychologically, which, can impact negatively on the child's academic performance. For example, the child who had a fallout with his employer due to low productivity at the workplace can have issues in school due to his problem at work. The consequences of this on the future of this student can be disastrous in the long term. In conclusion, whether or not, working part-time as a student is beneficial will depend on the person involved. There is, however, the need to carefully consider the pros and cons of such a practice. These are points that I have discussed in this essay.