Some people believe that using a bicycle as the main form of transport has a lot of advantages, whereas others think that it has many disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often said that using a bicycle as the primary mode of transport has various advantages. However, the issue is not completely straightforward and arguments can be made against the idea as well. On the one hand, those who support the usage of bicycles as the primary method of commuting cite the various benefits that it has. These range from reducing carbon emissions to a higher level of well being. First, the increased usage of private cars is a major cause of air pollution and global warming. A cycle does not have an exhaust. As such the adoption of bicycles by more people results in lower emissions of greenhouse gases. For instance, Amsterdam has very low levels of pollution because most of its citizens use bicycles for commuting. In addition, it is advantageous for people who lead a sedentary lifestyle. Many people develop various diseases these days at a very early age due to a lack of sufficient exercise. A daily ride to their workplace, institute, etc. gives them the requisite workout without even needing to go to the gym. Furthermore, bicycling is easy on congested roads. By contrast, opponents of this viewpoint out the various disadvantages that are associated with riding a bicycle. First, bicycles are not as comfortable as motorcars or public transport. They also don't offer the luxuries of a car such as air conditioning and an infotainment system. Because of the aforementioned issues, it can be quite tiring to ride a bicycle over long distances. Second, in many countries, there are no dedicated bicycling lanes and driving them alongside other automobiles is risky and can often result in accidents. For instance, even if a cyclist wears a helmet, the impact of a collision can be deadly since the rest of their body is not protected. In conclusion, it seems advisable that the merits of bicycling outweigh its demerits. However, to make bicycling more safer the government needs to build separate bicycling lanes.