With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Nowadays, with a significant rise in the number of older people in societies. Even though the modern well-being care system has been developed, governments need to take several measures to tackle this issue. For example, financial support for elderly accommodations and health care facilities. To begin with, the increase in numbers of elderly can cause many problems to the community such as not enough workforce on the job market, inadequate medical and healthcare resources, low quality of life and poverty among elderly without ample financial support and deteriorate mental health among elderly. In my opinion, society will be able to deal with this problem if drastic measures are taken by authorities. Firstly, governments should support older people financially since they already retired and have no money to support themselves, retirement housing and healthcare facilities such as hospitals and health centres should be increased in number and improved by governments. A large number of older people feel less valuable when they do not work and this can deteriorate their mental health. Governments should encourage employers to hire the elderly in some suitable jobs to create some income for them and satisfaction for themselves. Also, authorities should support social activities among the elderly, for example, group exercising, gardening and painting to improve their mental health. In addition, governments should also fund medical research and developments to improve the overall quality of life for older populations. In conclusion, in my opinion, authorities should take several measures to support the substantial rise in the numbers of elderly by funding retirement accommodations and healthcare facilities, encouraging more jobs for them and supporting social activities.