The old generation often hold traditional ideas about the correct way of life, thinking and behavior. However, some people think that these ideas are not helpful for young people to prepare for modern life. To what extent do agree or disagree?

There is a generation gap between the old and the new generations; therefore, their ways of life, thinking and behaviour are different. Hence, it is argued by some that the ideas of the elderly are not suitable for the youth in modern life. I partially agree with this view because some of the concepts of senior citizens are beneficial for the youngster but some need to be altered. To begin with, undoubtedly, the moral conduct of the old people is exceptional. However, young people lack the importance of ethics and morality. Therefore, the youngsters need to adopt the best behaviour of the elderly to achieve success in their matrimonial and social lives. For instance, if the young people are polite, humble, tolerant and empathetic in their natures, they will definitely not get involved in disputes, quarrels and conflicts with their family and other members of society. This will provide them with peace of mind and relaxation that will result in the ultimate achievements in their lives. On the other hand, senior citizens are mostly stereotyped and less open to new and radical ideas. These are the characteristics which are not required in modern life. Needless to, say that gender discrimination has become a thing of the past; however, it is still believed by the old people such as girls cannot excel over boys in many areas of life. Similarly, the old generation feels hesitant and reluctant in learning new technology, since they do not welcome innovation and prefer to stick to the traditional and conservative ways of life. For instance, many old people are more comfortable with hand-written documents than typed files. These are the primitive ways of life and should not be followed by young people. In conclusion, although the young generation should follow the moral values of old people, their stereotypical and less innovative thoughts are not acceptable in the contemporary era.