It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the internet and people's increasing fondness for books and films, some people tend to believe that travelling to other places is not necessary for them to learn about the culture anymore. In the main, I'm opposed to this opinion, because we tend to be biased towards the culture and only learn part of the culture from books, films and the internet. Bias is likely to occur if you only receive information from books, films, and the internet. This is because the stories described in books or films are deliberately selected by authors or producers. Only a snapshot of a certain culture is shown, and the social-economic context is inaccurately reflected in such resources from time to time. In addition, news and videos on the internet tend to show people part of the truth. In this case, when the information from books, films, and the internet is limited, imprecise, or distorted, people who lack overseas experience are incapable of applying their critical thinking skills on the issues being told, leading to bias being generated towards certain cultures. People who travel to other places gain a deeper and a more well-rounded understanding of other cultures compared to people who choose to broaden their horizons solely by books, films, and the internet. Although different values and social beliefs can be carried via these media, people gain a unique and distinct experience when they travel to all kinds of exotic locations around the world. For example, tourists who travel to Japan are always amazed at the freshness and the variety of food in local restaurants, even though they've tried sushi or sashimi in their own country. The first -hand experience gained from travelling will never be substituted by the knowledge learnt from books, films, or the internet. In summary, I disagree with the idea that learning from books, films, and the internet makes travelling unnecessary, due to the fact that people may be biased towards a certain culture, and they may miss the opportunity to gain a full understanding of the social context.