Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With affordable electronic devices and pervasive wifi connection points, an increasing number of employees are able to work from home, as do children who are allowed to study from home. Despite some apparent merits brought about by this change, it is overall a negative development. One of the major beneficial outcomes is boosting efficiency. Time saved on commuting for personnel may allow employees to gain more sleep and be refreshed during work. This is particularly true for employees working in metropolises with severe traffic congestion. However, this plus point is based on the premise that the atmosphere of work is of no significance to the efficiency of completing tasks. In fact, the surroundings and supervision in the workplace force people to concentrate on the assignment while being at home usually distracts workers. Such a situation is more likely to occur for the undisciplined young with inferior self-control ability when learning from an electronic device. Another key argument from proponents is more possibilities for employment and study. Freelancers will be able to receive a commission from companies overseas and the young will have access to better educational resources. For example, primary students can learn Math from Khan College, a widely known free website teaching Math in an easy way with relevant exercise. Nevertheless, the opportunities are not equivalent to justice and fairness. While few people can take advantage of such privilege, a large group of people who are illiterate in computer skills lag behind. In conclusion, although the option of working and studying from home may carry with it certain benefits for a small portion of people, implementing it on a large scale may adversely affect performance and broaden the gap between the rich and the poor.