Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, thanks to the advancement of the technology and globalization, the phenomenon of living in a metropolitan city would do more harm than good to ourselves has aroused a wide range of concerns among various circles and there is a broad spectrum of opinions on living in a famous town. Nonetheless, I vehemently agree with the view that living in a crowded city would undoubtedly bring various negative effects on people. Today I would like to shed light on this topic. Firstly, with the expansion of the multinational restaurant businesses, it is a ubiquitous phenomenon that there are often a number of fast-food restaurants, for instance, Mcdonald’s, KFC, and Jolibee, to name but a few, located within a big city. Instead of buying ingredients to cook the dinner at home, however, it is commonly seen that citizens instead will consume an enormous amount of junk food for convenience. Since the nutritional value of junk foods is extremely low, by containing an exceptionally great amount of fats, it can in turn lead to several adverse health issues, for example, obesity, diabetes, coronary heart disease, to people for worsening their physcial health. Not only can living in a big city impact our physical well-being, but also they will bring a harmful effect on our psychological health as well. Due to the prevalence of the consumer culture, it is common that companies would exploit numerous ways to promote their products to the customers, in a bid to keep abreast of their latest trends. In most of the renowned brands, be it Louis Vuitton, Prada or Gucci, they would create an unrealistic scenario with exaggerated effects on the customers, and therefore people would be manipulated at the end of the day. A striking example is that in some fashion magazines, they would present their products with glamorous and slim models, that conveyed the message of “thin is analogous to beauty”. Worse still, such distorted concept would broaden the gap between real-self and ideal-self among women, that in turn lower their self-esteem, which is incontrovertibly detrimental to people’s psychological development. To summarise, apart from a range of adverse health conditions could be easily resulted by increasing the popularity of the fast-food restaurants in a big city, it is of uttermost significance that living in a metropolitan city could have a negative effect on the mental status as well. It is hoped that general public should increase their awareness of the drawbacks by living in a crowded and famous city.