Animals are in danger of extinction. People say that we should protect only those animals, which are useful to humans. Do you agree or disagree.

Many animal species are on verge of getting extinct, and some suggest that humans should try to save only those species that are of any use to us. I disagree with this opinion as I believe every creature has its place on earth and we should safeguard nature’s diversity as it is a gift for our planet. There are several reasons why few people have the idea of saving only those animals which are beneficial for humans. Firstly, these creatures have played an important part in the evolution of humankind, and thus, their protection should be of top concern. For example, cows gave us milk to survive, horses took us to far off places, and bulls ploughed through our fields etc, these are some ways where these animals made our life super convenient and helped us evolve into complex beings. Secondly, along with being helping hands some animals became a source of happiness and companionship for us, which was crucial for our beings to survive. For instance, dogs are known to be true friends for life due to their loyalty and the feeling of belongingness they offer. Hence, many believe we must protect species based only on their resourcefulness for us. On the other hand, I believe every living organism on earth has its own significance and this diversity is what makes our planet beautiful, and hence, efforts should be made to provide safety to every animal irrespective if they have any direct use for us or not. To quote an example, the sheer variety of wildlife found in jungles has been an important source of learning about life for us. In addition, our food chain is comprised of hundreds of complex species which might not have any practical use in daily life for mankind, but their presence is essential to keep the balance of nature which is paramount for the existence of all of us. To conclude, while certain individuals prefer to safeguard animals based only on their use for their convenience, I strongly feel that saving every animal species is important for our own survival and maintaining the balance of nature on earth.