Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Learning a foreign language is of paramount importance to people because it enables them to communicate with a broader range of nations. While some people opine that multilinguality can benefits people in the aspects of work or travel, many people believe that it creates a broad spectrum of opportunities. In my mind, the reasons to study a foreign language not only have advantages in work or travel but also helps people to have access to academic resources, attain a deeper understanding of other cultures, and double their friendship across various nations. First, people always are enthusiastic to get promoted in their career. Multilingality is one of the best factors that create brilliant opportunities in work to get promoted. People with fluency in a foreign language can obtain others' trust in their workplace because of direct communication without a translator. Also, proficiency in different languages empowers the negotiation skills in international business meetings. Moreover, bilinguality can help people to share their marketable skills across the world’s job markets. Hence, mulitilinguality can economically benefit people by providing a wider range of opportunities in their career. Second, as the world is becoming borderless, the tourism industry plays a golden role because it encourages people to travel around the world and visit various historical and cultural places. having fluency in one of the international languages such as English helps people to communicate with others to have a better experience in their journey. For example, when a person from India travels to Norway to visit a historical relic, proficiency in English helps the Indian to have a better understanding of the description of that historical souvenir. Thus, bilinguality may benefit tourists around the world to enjoy their journey. Finally, the reasons for studying different languages cannot be confined to work or travel because it seems languages have different usage among professional people. For example, scholars who are obsessed with the history of economics may learn Italian because a wide range of academic references in economics has been written in Italian. Also, some people are passionate about other languages to deeper their knowledge of its culture. For instance, one may aim to learn french because he or she can learn more about France's history by the ability to read their textbook. Moreover, some extrovert people can enjoy the opportunity of doubling their friendship by learning different languages. For example, a student from china can broader his or her friendship with Canadians by learning English. Hence, the reasons to learn a foreign language may vary among people and cannot solely be limited to work or travel. Overall, I believe that multilingality cannot be learned solely to get promoted in work or to have better experience in travel. Accessing academic references, doubling friendship networks, and attaining a deeper understanding of a country’s history or culture can also be the reasons to learn a foreign language.