Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays the majority of society does not interact with wild animals at all, so it is thought by some people that spending money to create preservation for them is unnecessary. In my opinion, humanity must save as many species as possible for future generations. First of all, in terms of research, there is a large number of phenomena about animals which are still unexplored. In other words, each type has its own feature and ability which could be very useful for humans to possess, but today's scientists do not know all of t them however using new technologies they could find them and implement them into the human genome making them fitter and resistant to a variety of diseases. For example, recently it is detected that one particular type of ocean habitat has the ability to recover and live until it will be killed by predators, by preserving it today scientist can use their ability to extend people's lives. Moreover, extinction of one particular type can lead to the destruction of the food chain and consequently to a sharp increase in the number of other types. If one species dies out, the animals eaten by it will experience deaths significantly less subsequently their quantity will only rise. For instance, the Chinese have killed all birds of a specific species as a result the insects developed rapidly harming all crop farms. In conclusion, I believe that some money should be allocated to preserve rare types and rescue them from full extinction as it can contribute to the further development of society as well as preserve them from starvation.