In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Parents are always hoping for their children to be successful and in some cultures they are taught that hard work makes everything achievable. This essay will outline the advantages as well as the disadvantages of growing with such a state of mind. There are certain beliefs that urge youngsters to be persistent and keep up the good work because they will definitely make it if they put in enough effort. This message can have many advantages including shaping the personality of children to grow into diligent and responsible adults that are consistently pursuing their goals and don't give up when they are challenged with failure. For example, a child who learns that trying harder when failing is the key to success would be more prepared for the hurdles that may face him in adulthood. Therefore, some parents ensure to deliver this kind of message to their children so they are encouraged to believe in themselves, and their dreams as well as to be open to any challenges coming their way. On the other hand, there are also significant disadvantages mainly the reality that not all the desired things are reachable so holding to this belief might be detrimental. In other words, children are being put under pressure and taking all the responsibility if they are unsuccessful in achieving a goal which is overwhelming and depressing. For instance, a person can't make someone loves him no matter how harder he persuades him. Furthermore, children are indirectly learning to be selfish and egoistic to get what they want even if it means hurting people in the process. Hence, children should be taught to be flexible with their choices and to experience new things instead of wasting time and energy and parents should be careful when transmitting such messages. In conclusion, in some cultures children are told that being enoughly roughly determined is the key to achieving anything, this can come with advantages such as being diligent and responsible but can also come with disadvantages, namely selfishness and depression.