Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the issue of ecosystem and environmental sustainability has become a major concern of the global population. Some people believe that plastic bags for shopping are supposed to be banned since they pollute the land and water, and I appear to side with this initiative. Initially, the use of plastic shopping bags seems to be in contrast with the goal of promoting sustainability. This is because those bags tend to be formed from a thin layer of plastic, which is vulnerable and impractical to reuse again. Therefore, after a single use, the only option that appears to be viable for the consumers is to throw it off. This leads to the fact that plastic bags have become a major contributor to the global waste. Additionally, this type of waste is impossible to decompose and scientifically proven that it takes more than a century to completely diminish. In the meantime, plastic waste has endangered the environment, additionally, to the marine creatures. One example can be seen in the case where the growth of a sea turtle is disrupted because a plastic bag has stuck on its shell. It is also viable that this brings detrimental effects to human beings. Plastic bags by time will be broken down into microplastics, and this substance could unconsciously be consumed by humans or animals.   Admittedly, there is an argument that declares plastic bags could be recycled into other forms of stuff. However, in some countries, where the recycling system tends to operate ineffectively, this solution seems to be impractical. Overall, it seems advisable that the plastic bags use should be restricted since they appear to be unable to be reused and recycled, also, they can harm the whole of living beings.