In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

The male domination in the science courses is becoming increasingly popular, especially in recent past years and has gained much more scholarly attention. Nowadays, more and more Universities are experiencing growing demand for science -related courses among male students compared to females. This essay will discuss the reason why this is happening and will provide solutions to making STEM courses more attractive among females. Admittedly, it is true that a higher percentage of males are getting interested in enrolling on science courses like engineering, medical and research, compared to females, who often opt for studies in teaching, fashion and interior designing. The most important reason for this is society's influence and lack of guidance. For example, the children tend to follow the traditional approach where the field of STEM was more dominated and fit for males compared to females. Moreover, they even lack getting right guidelines in selecting the career that interests them. Although, there is some legitimate concerns for universities in maintaining the right gender balance for the science courses. However, these issues can be looked after well by several precautionary measures. The first and foremost is, by encouraging seminars to create awareness about the benefits and availability of a wide range of courses. For example, the Government can arrange compulsory seminars in secondary schools, which can help the children in making a decision about selecting the right career for themselves. The Second solution is, by reserving some seats for females. For example, Some Government funded courses often reserve seats for males and females to maintain the right gender balance and equality. To conclude, I believe, most of the science courses at universities have significantly more male students than female, despite this, it can be looked after well by following the above mention steps.