Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, although individual freedom is upheld, we greatly value rules and laws in society. The community could not work if all people are allowed to do anything they want. In my point of view, I totally agree with this statement for various reasons which should be carefully considered. First and foremost, rules and laws are extremely essential to developing a sustainable society. For example, many traffic rules are promulgated such as following the traffic light, do not over the speed limit as well as needing a driver’s license when riding. All rules will help to reduce traffic accidents and save people ’s life. Besides that, rules can aware people of the separation of waste. Thus, this action will increase the amount of recycling and reduce the impact of waste on the environment. In addition, if individuals can do whatever they wanted without legislation and punishments, it will cause an extent of crimes living in communities. Moreover, this will encourage people to repeat illegal activities because they have no responsibility for it. For instants, if someone neglects to pay his tax, by law, he needs to be punished and pay for the extra fare. As a result, he has a sense and does not repeat it. This will ensure government have enough budget to maintain society’s activities. It stands to the above reasons, in conclusion, although rules and laws can enclose people in a certain form, there is no doubt that they are the part which is an indispensable thing in society.