Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The enormous sales generated from famous consumer products are attributed to the success of advertisement rather than the actual demands of the market. This essay completely agrees with this statement due to the effectiveness of using brand ambassadors to leverage sales and providing discounts to increase the number of sold goods. First and foremost, big brands often hire influencers to review and introduce their products to the public. This approach utilizes figures that are popular among people in the targeted markets. Hence, folks who have developed trust toward these ambassadors are enticed to try the products. For example, in the skincare industry, brands often pay key opinion leaders in a beauty ecosystem to make a sponsored video that reviews the effectiveness and benefits of using the items. At the beginning of 2023, Skintific sent promotional items to Tasya Farasya. She posted Instagram stories talking about the goods which got a lot of impressions and ramped up the sales of Skintific. Moreover, in a competitive market, companies use discounts to leverage their sales. They use psychology in purchasing to gain more buyers by giving special discounts. For instance, Skintific, a skincare brand, launched a good deal by giving a discount for buyers who purchase a bundle package over those who only buy a la carte. This marketing approach attracts people to buy more than their actual needs owing to the idea of getting a cheaper price. Therefore, the brands can jack up their sales and generate more profit from the market. In conclusion, the mounting sales of famous consumer goods do not necessarily depict the real demand of the customers because the companies pay influencers to drive the sales and use discounts as incentives for people to spend more money on bundling items.