A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, with the advances in capitalism, it is generally thought that some populations may judge others by social position and material ownership. I, however, believe that personal values, for example, honour, kindness and trust are still crucial in societies in many aspects. To begin with, many people judge others from physical appearances, social status and possessions such as clothes and accessories, work status and roles, families' names and other ownerships. This is completely normal since these traits are the first impression of a person. This is illustrated by a salesperson would treat a client with smart attires and own an expensive car better and with more respect than a client who looks poor and travels by foot. Therefore, it is undeniable that in societies that appearances and social position are imperative whether among, business-men, colleagues, groups of friends, or partners. Nevertheless, old-fashioned traits, for instance, honour, kindness and trust still play an important role in many aspects and situations. In the case of college students, he or she might approach friends who are gorgeous and dress properly with brand-name bags at first but in the end people that become friends need to know each other on a deeper level in the case of personalities, things in common, kindness and honesty. Populations may judge others from what they see at first but after learning about others, old-fashioned values will show finally. In conclusion, I completely disagree that inner values are no longer important since appearances and social status are only the surfaces on that people judge others at first while other values will be seen afterwards when individuals get to know each other in-depth.