Today, more and more people choose to be self-employed. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

These days people are more interested in starting their own business rather than opting for nine to five jobs. There are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this but I believe that the benefits outweigh the negatives. People are these days fascinated by the idea of running their own work as it allows them to be the owner and can work according to their will. On the other hand, there are a lot of constraints attached to the regular jobs when compared to being self-employed as they will be bound to work for eight hours straight to get paid. Having your own business, allows you to become independent and multi-tasker. Initially, when one opens a start-up he or she will have to work with less staff because all the money goes into growing the business therefore it enables one to work in different departments irrespective of the qualification. Moreover, it is beneficial for not just an individual but for the whole country as it helps increase the Gross Domestic Product. Therefore, these days government is encouraging youth to start their own company by providing various investment programs which allows one to not worry about the money but rather focus on a business plan or come up with interesting ideas. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages associated with being self-employed because there is a risk of failure. The work might go south and all the money can go into vain. It does not provide a fixed source of income as there are times when the profit is high and sometimes there are losses. However, everything has risks attached to it but that does not mean we should not try and forget to dream. To conclude, starting your own company allows you to become independent and is also beneficial for the country. There are a couple of negatives but with hard work and with dedication they can be overcome.