In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and their families. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Work has become hard to find in most nations of the world. This development forces many individuals to leave behind their associates and families to work in other places. My opinion is that the advantages of working elsewhere do not outweigh the disadvantages. More details are discussed in the essay below. First, being employed elsewhere is problematic because one cannot benefit from the warmth of physical and social connections at home. As a result, despite the financial benefits received from being employed, one still suffers from isolation, which can lead to depression. For example, a 2020 study in Belgium found that 90 per cent of mental health illnesses resulted from the loneliness associated with people living isolated lives. Secondly, moving away from the family reduces the ability to save money. This is because if one has to pay expenses (such as rent and food) in two places (for themself and their family), they have little money to put aside. I experienced this when I worked abroad in 2020. The benefits of earning foreign currency in Belgium were spoiled by the sudden increase in my monthly expenses in Belgium and Zimbabwe. Of course, working in a different location could be beneficial in terms of meeting new people and experiencing a different climate or culture, but these benefits do not compare to the challenges one can face, especially isolation. In conclusion, therefore, while people could benefit from changing geographical locations so as to find employment, my opinion is that the advantages of this scenario do not outweigh the negatives. This standpoint has been the basis of this essay.