Some people believe that young people should be required to do unpaid work to help their local community. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, many teenagers are asked to do voluntary work in their daily life. I agree with this opinion, although it has its downside. By doing non-profit programs, young people can improve their problem-solving skills and gain a sense of gratification. When people suffer from an earthquake, youth can help local communities deliver necessities and encourage local people. This means that they have to learn how to solve tricky problems which are hard to see in the school. These activities might become a formative experience throughout their life. Another positive impact of participating in voluntary work is that teenagers can improve their social abilities. For those students who are introverted and shy, it is an extraordinary opportunity to challenge themselves. For example, during their working time, they need to build a close rapport with local people and fulfill their missions optimistically. Doing voluntary work is tedious, it also requires a high demand for young people to be patient. These abilities are conducive to their future life. A distinctive advantage for the local community is that they can gain enough workforce to tackle problems. During covid-19, many local communities find it tough to finish considerable missions by themselves. If young people are asked to participate in the whole helping program, all of them can pull through the task together. This will contribute to the whole community. On the other hand, compulsive unpaid work can impose a strain on young people. As we know, they are relatively fragile and tender. If they are forced to do repetitive labor work without any material rewards or encouragement, they might lose the impetus and get frustrated. Besides, many teenagers, especially students, are busy with their homework, and most of them are reluctant to do unpaid work initiatively. They might finish their voluntary work ruthlessly when they have multiple academic tasks to do. This might cause the inefficiency of the whole program. In conclusion, doing unpaid work is an arduous but rewarding process. I think teenagers should be asked to do voluntary work, although compulsive voluntary work can present a challenge to them.