International travel is becoming cheaper, and more and more countries open their door and with more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

The increase in access to travel caused by affordable prices opens up more and more countries for tourists to visit. A large flow of visitors is a great benefit to the economies of countries; however, it also causes significant harm. This essay will be aimed at finding out whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. A large percentage of tourism has a number of different advantages for each host country. Firstly, it is impossible not to notice the benefits for the economy. Countries with a large number of tourists receive abundant amounts of financial income and can invest more in their social infrastructure such as kindergartens, schools and hospitals.One more advantage is the cultural exchange. Visiting places with a different culture leads to improving the understanding of the world. In addition, it is a favourable opportunity to learn and explore something new, because every society has its own traditions which are really interesting to study. On the other hand, increased tourism comes with its own drawbacks as well. The major disadvantage is that a great deal of people may cause environmental degradation. A large crowd of tourists at the sights often leads to pollution of these places, which as a result can cause the loss of historical heritage. One more drawback to add is social and behavioural impact. Some of the travellers usually do does not respect the cultural values and traditions of the country they visit and such behaviour often leads to conflicts with the local people living in this country. In conclusion, if comparing all the advantages of increased tourism with disadvantages there are many more benefits, therefore it is extremely important to further develop tourism and reduce the harm from it.