Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside? What problems does this cause? What can be done to solve this problem?

Megacities have become the destination of some young adults living in small towns, leaving behind them elderly people as the main population of the countryside. This essay will outline the problems of this trend as well as highlight the possible solution for them. Firstly, young people are always in search of better opportunities that their hometowns usually do not provide so they have to leave looking for a brighter future in metropolitan cities which automatically means that small towns will not make any progress since the majority of their population is made of retired old people. In other words, crowded cities and undeveloped countrysides are non-evitable problems attributed to this culture. For instance, cities will suffer from traffic jams and high rates of crime because they can not manage the colossal number of inhabitants. Therefore, many fields would be affected by this uncontrollable migration whether in the urban or rural areas. Secondly, improving the infrastructure of the rural areas is the best solution that could be done to tackle these issues. The government should take responsibility and start funding projects and encouraging investments in those areas so young adults won't have to leave to secure a job and elderly people would be close to their children that take care of them. For example, creating optimal job chances would keep many adults from leaving relentlessly their families and would significantly lower the number of internal migrations. Consequently, urbanization is the key to solving the many problems caused by this trend. In conclusion, while some young people move from their hometowns to resettle in urban areas and leaving in the process old people in the countryside, many problems are emerging. Thus, unless efforts are made by the government to tackle them, they would only escalate.