Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

The mortality rates in developing nations are higher than those in developed nations. This is due to the fact that in the upcoming economies, people are still dying from diseases that are curable and these people cannot afford to buy medicines. The drug companies should sell medicines at low cost to these countries by fast-tracking their research and development programs to manufacture medicines economically. Also, the government in these countries need to subsidize the medicines to make them affordable to poor people. On the one hand, most of the people in poor countries have dire living conditions. Due to these living conditions, they fall sick with seasonal and spreadable diseases such as malaria, chicken pox, typhoid etc. These people cannot afford treatment for these diseases because it is expensive. We can read in newspapers that people are still dying from malaria in African countries, but a disease like malaria does not exist in developed countries. So, pharma companies must come forward to sell low-cost medicines for these common diseases. Also, the government must have a robust immunization and vaccination policy against seasonal and spreadable diseases and must create awareness that prevention is better than cure. On the other hand, manufacturing medicines comes at a higher cost. Pharmaceutical companies spend a lot in their research programs to find a cure for any disease. They cannot always sell medicines at a cheaper price. For example, when the world was affected by COVID, all the countries came together to invent medicines at a rapid pace to prevent them from dying and they sold medicines at a subsidized price. Similarly, governments need to have policies to incentivize these companies to sell affordable medicines to the people. To conclude, the drug companies need to create a balance between the product cost and affordability. In case there are any medicines that cannot be sold at a lower price then they need to approach the government for a subsidy.