Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social, and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

As modern society has become more and more competitive and complex, our next generation faces more pressures from different fronts, ranging from education to social relationships. Consequently, the well-being of a child could suffer, but this can be addressed by providing more support and changing expectations from teachers and parents. There are a variety of problems that cause a child to feel stressed nowadays. First, the competition in modern society is fierce. In particular, with limited places at selective colleges and universities, children need to prepare for different types of interviews and entrance exams, and they must do well in public exams. As a result, they are often under immense pressure for the expectations of others and themselves. Second, the circle of school life is wider than that at home, which means the young people must learn how to work with people from different backgrounds. Hence, those who are minorities, for example, could face more challenges in overcoming the stereotypes and prejudices from others in learning. Effective solutions to the youth's academic and social stress should come from schools and families. With respect to teachers, they should recognise the individual differences of students, respect that each student has different talents, and everyone has the potential to improve themselves. For instance, schools should provide mental health training and teach students how to build resilience to stress. With respect to parents, they should spend more time listening to their children. In other words, they should let their children know their parents love them and that the family is their ultimate support. As such, the youth would feel safer and less worried when faced with new challenges and they experience failures. In conclusion, the youth face more stress due to the increased competition and complexity of the modern world. If individual differences were recognised and the necessary support for upholding the young people's well-being were provided, these conditions would be alleviated.