Do you work with music and songs in English lessons?

Music is something that we enjoy in the course of our lives. It is a significant aspect of it and their role in an educational system is very important in general. Using songs and music in lessons is one of the tools a teacher can use to teach a foreign language, regardless of the age of the learners, level of student´s language or their proficiency to study the language. This essay will focus on using songs and music in English lessons, including activities, methods, descriptions, and tools. Firstly, D. K. Eken explains how it works in the educational process: “ Music is considered as a strong candidate for making language learning classroom an optimum learning environment in which learners can increase their vocabulary, enhance their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills, and develop cultural knowledge.” He provides an explanation of how these to tools can change the process in educational facilities. Furthermore, if teachers include music in their lesson plans they have to take the time into consideration. There is the fact that learners need more space to work with one short piece o music and they should proceed with small steps. For example some work sheets with lyrics included short glossary for students. Secondly, English lessons can incorporate songs, the language of sounds, rhythms, and feelings. This means that the school subject English could benefit from music and its use in English lessons at primary schools. Attention is paid to songs, especially focusing on their importance in teaching from both theoretical and practical points of view. As you can see, music and songs have many benefits and purposes such as the development of all skills (reading, writing, listening and speaking), activities including grammar rules, idioms, and pronunciations. It is well known fact that for many students the most problematic skill is listening. Using songs in English classes is a great opportunity to develop and consolidate students ´ habits and listening strategies. Teachers’ selection of a technique and set of techniques should be based on the objectives for different classrooms. They should prepare an effective plan for each lesson where they would like to apply the song and music. It is also important and necessary to integrate all the skills in the process in order to achieve successful teaching. In addition, when people are in a good or bad humour, they listen to music. Therefore, we can use music to evoke a pleasant atmosphere or as a warm-up activity. Not too many teachers do it because they do not pay attention to song or they do not have experience with it. On the other hand, we need to motivate our students and this is one option which might help. We can start the lesson with a short time warm up activity, for example using live concert recording and students have two or three minute´s space to dance. To conclude, foreign language teachers should be able to aply music and songs as a pedagogical tool in English language lessons. As I believe a teacher can be successful in his/her teaching practise, only in case he/she knows the students ´ needs, habits and heir aims and requirements. Under the condition of being a music teacher and my personal experience, using music and song is contributing. References: Eken, D. K. (1996). Ideas for using songs in the English language classroom. English Teaching Forum, 34(1), 46-47. 1)Murphey, Tim. Music and song. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. Print.