Do you work with music and songs in English classes?

Music is something that we enjoy in the course of our lives. It is a significant aspect of it and their role in English classes is very important. Applying of these two tools can be very useful for educators to teach a foreign language, regardless of the age of the learners, level of student´s language or their proficiency to study the language. This essay will focus on using songs and music in English sessions, including activities, methods, descriptions, and tools. Firstly, D. K. Eken explains how it works in the educational process: “ Music is considered as a strong candidate for making language learning classroom an optimum learning environment in which learners can increase their vocabulary, enhance their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills, and develop cultural knowledge.” He provides an explanation of how these two tools can change the process in educational facilities. Furthermore, if teachers include melodies in their lesson plans they have to take the time into consideration. There is the fact that students need more space to work with one song and we should proceed with small steps. Secondly, English lessons can incorporate songs, the language of sounds, rhythms, and feelings. This means that the school subject could benefit from them and its use in period of tutoring at primary schools. Attention is paid to songs, especially focusing on their importance in teaching from both theoretical and practical points of view. As you can see,they have many benefits and purposes such as the development of all skills (reading, writing, listening and speaking), activities including grammar rules, idioms, and pronunciations. It is well known fact that for many learners the most problematic skill is listening. Using songs in English classes is a great opportunity to develop and consolidate students´ habits and listening strategies. Teachers’ selection of a technique and set of techniques should be based on the objectives for different classrooms. They should prepare an effective plan for each lesson where they would like to apply the song and music. It is also important and necessary to integrate all the skills in the process in order to achieve successful teaching. In addition, when people are in a good or bad humour, they listen to music. Therefore, we can use various melodies to evoke a pleasant atmosphere or as a warm-up activity. Not too many teachers do it because they do not pay attention to song or they do not have experience with it. On the other hand, we need to motivate our students and this is one option which might help. We can start the lesson with a short time warm up activity, for example using live concert recording and students have two or three minute´s space to dance. To conclude, foreign language teachers should be able to apply music and songs as a pedagogical tool in English language sessions. As I believe a teacher can be successful in his/her teaching practise, only in case he/she knows the learners´ needs, habits and heir aims and requirements. Under the condition of being a music teacher and my personal experience and their application is contributing. References: Eken, D. K. (1996). Ideas for using songs in the English language classroom. English Teaching Forum, 34(1), 46-47. 1)Murphey, Tim. Music and song. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. Print.