A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

Nowadays, there is a growing concern about water shortage in cities all over the world. This crisis has made daily life a lot harder for people. There are a number of reasons for this problem among which are overuse of water by people and bad agricultural policies. This essay will examine these reasons, and suggest potential solutions as well. Arguably, the most important issue in terms of water scarceness is the intentional and unintentional overuse of water in houses. That is because people now find it easy to have water through the plumbs and do not value it that much. Therefore, they tend to use too much of it without thinking about preserving it for others and future generations. For example, they wash their cars with drinking water or let the water pour down the whole time when they are taking a shower. A solution is for the government to increase the prices of household water usage and at the same time, launch publicity campaigns on how to reduce water use and how difficult it is to bring water into cities, thereby raising awareness of the public on the importance of water. Another problem is the inefficient approaches used in agriculture. That is to say, many farming systems around the world are still traditional and do not use modern technology. Moreover, countries that are naturally drier and have lower sources of water cultivate crops that need high quantities of water. As a result, the groundwater resources are extracted excessively. The way forward must be for authorities to ban illegal wells and drilling, encourage and subsidize modern irrigation equipment and prohibit the growth of products that consume high amounts of water. These measures can highly reduce water usage in the agriculture sector. In conclusion, it seems to me that water shortage trouble is deeply rooted in its bad usage in household and agriculture sectors. As I see it, governments and decision-makers all have a role in tackling these issues. It is important to take steps in reducing water usage, otherwise life for future generations will be devastating.