There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students though exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Students used to be assessed through continual assessment. In recent times, learners are academically assessed through exams. Some people would agree on exams are the most efficient way of assessing one's academic level, however, some believed the exact opposite. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of conducting exams as a way of assessing academic level. In recent years, as technology progresses new methods of learning such as online classes were introduced. This has led to varying levels of competition among students. Therefore, educational institutions have adopted this new technology and introduced a new way of assessing academic literacy. They are now carrying out multiple exams in one academic year. Students ' performance and scores will be based on the exams they took. However, this system would not discover one's creative abilities and it may lead students to develop mental illnesses or be burnt out from studying too much for an exam and as a result, there is a decrease in morale. For instance, a student would stay up all night to study for an exam and the lack of sleep may cause the student to lose focus during an exam. Initially, school curriculums usually keep records of academics in different areas such as homework, projects, and impromptu reports. These activities usually include creative thinking and brainstorming which is helpful in critical thinking. For example, a study conducted at Duke University shows statistical results that middle and high school learners who fulfilled homework regularly score higher on tests and earn better grades than those who do not. In conclusion, assessing academic levels should vary in different areas of learning. Exams can be very helpful in analysing students ' performance however, continual assessments should be done to fully evaluate one's academic success.