The increase in People’s life expectancy means that they have to work older to pay for their retirement. One alternative is that people start to work at a young age. Is this alternative a positive or a negative development?

The rise in people’s life expectancy has caused youngsters to start their careers at such a young age to avoid working longer in the future for their retirement fund. On one hand, starting a career sooner can be beneficial due to the better performance youngsters have at performing tasks. On the other hand, uncontrollable emotions shown by young people can be dangerous at work. I personally agree with the latter statement because employing young people with such mental instability can be risky. It is a fact that a human is more productive in their early stage as an adult, compared to several years after. Adolescents may have more energy and focus compared to the elderly. Many researchers have postulated that as humans grow older, their cognitive ability decreases gradually. In addition, the physical strength of an old person is likely to be weak and dull, thus inhibiting their performance for jobs that require a lot of movement, such as courier. Nevertheless, the mental and emotions of youngsters are very volatile and difficult to control. Emotional stability will develop as our age increases. As a result, older adults tend to be wiser at making decisions. For instance, teenagers tend to struggle with anger issues. They are often seen as arrogant when driving a vehicle, resulting in careless accidents. Surely, a company would not tolerate such conduct in the professional world. As a conclusion, starting a career as early as possible can be positive due to the higher productivity rate adolescents have. However, it may also cause harm due to the emotional volatility they have.