Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with rising sea levels and what are some possible solutions.

Nowadays, one of the serious problems that people are facing is global warming and the increasing rate of sea levels. This essay will discuss the problems associated with the rising sea level and will suggest some remedial measures to tackle them. One of the major problems arising because of the rising sea levels is flooding near the coastal areas. As the water level increases it tries to enter the cities near the beaches which results in the loss of life and property. Another threat because of the increasing sea level is the disappearance of coastal areas thus forcing people to immigrate to different cities. For example, beautiful beaches in Bali (Indonesia) are disappearing because of the permanent increase in the water level of the ocean. Additionally, the salination of groundwater near the coastal region was discovered because of seawater entering the land near the coasts. To tackle floods, big water channels can be constructed which will safely change the flow of the water entering the cities to a place where this water can be deposited. Moreover, the government should only allow the construction of high rise buildings in flood-prone areas as it will ensure the safety of the individuals living there. Proper evacuation of the people living in the coastal field who are in danger of getting disappeared, also provides permanent shelter for them. Installing desalination plants to remove the salt from the groundwater before making it available for drinking. For instance, Dubai is largely dependent on seawater for meeting their drinking water needs; they have big desalination plants which help in making the seawater drinkable. To conclude, the effects of global warming are increasing the sea level, thus resulting in flooding of the area near the beaches and the extinction of coastal range. However, loss occurring because of these calamities can be minimized with a proper evacuation plan and the construction of water channels.