In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In some nations, people are more like to drive a car to shop in the supermarkets on the outskirts. While this trend could cause an increasing use of automobiles, I personally believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, we have to admit that the rapid growth in demand for cars possibly affects people's lives negatively. The primary reason is that excessive automobiles on the streets probably lead to traffic congestion during rush hours, which means it will cause a waste of residents' time and resources and bring additional inconvenience. Secondly, increasing the use of cars will jeopardize the social environment and raise the demand for petroleum resources. In other words, exhaust gas emissions and usage of petrol might cause a wide range of environmental problems. Therefore, this tendency could influence both people's personal lives and environmental resources. Regardless of the arguments mentioned above, I consider that driving to stores in the outskirts can be considerably beneficial to both society and human beings. Firstly, it is conducive to the development of the suburbs, which means increasing customs in the rural districts can boost the comprehensive economic prosperity of the cities. For example, there will be more basic facilities and businesses in the rural areas and thus promote the municipal incomes. Secondly, moving the stores to the periphery districts will reduce the housing costs of their business and also make more profits from their products. Customers in these stores are able to buy many profitable products. Thirdly, governments are also encouraged to build more public transport stations, which will be helpful to the cities' development. In conclusion, I completely agree that moving stores to the outskirts has more benefits than drawbacks.