In many countries around the world, young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answers and include relevant examples.

In several nations globally, the younger generation prefers to live alone or with friends right after graduation. This essay agrees that this is a positive development as it fosters growth and individuality among the youth. It has been a generational practice for numerous countries, especially for conservative nations, for the graduates to stay with their parents due to financial constraints or familial responsibilities. However, for the past few decades, younger people usually have chosen to live independently. This is mainly attributed to the fact that these individuals would like to enjoy their youth by experiencing new things that will not require the permission of their parents. For instance, adventure enthusiasts would like to spend their weekends with their friends by hiking, travelling, or going on a long bike ride. Since these activities are quite risky, acquiring permission from parents who value their children’s safety may be difficult, thus the decision to live separately from home. In addition, having your own place or a shared house denotes a chance for personal growth. As a recent graduate who has lots to learn and experience, living independently allows a person to develop their decision-making skills through deciding everything by himself. For instance, a person plans his weekly meal, budgets his salary, or does household chores to keep the house clean and organized. Aside from this, independent or co-living may improve the emotional resilience of someone by experiencing both negative and positive events in life like heartbreaks, failures, achievements, and financial struggles. Hence, everything that the person may go through by living independently leads to personal improvements from the most trivial matters to emotional experiences. In conclusion, it is agreeable that building a future away from home is a positive development among the youth. It is evident that personal growth may occur by making tough decisions and experiencing emotional events in life.