Although most people are richer than the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes of stress in modern life, and how could stress be reduced?

It is obvious that stress in this day and age is reaching significant levels, in contrast to the past. People nowadays are leading a stressful life, even though their financial conditions are better than ever before. There could be various reasons for this phenomenon, however, I believe that social media and the increasing unemployment rate are the main contributing factors. Despite the development that technology has offered to humanity, social media represents one of its significant setbacks. When a person looks at others' lives through the filters of the internet, he starts comparing his life to others, thus causing him unnecessary anxiety. For instance, when someone watches only the impressive side of their friends' lives, they instantly feel inferior to them, and start stressing about reaching higher status and having more money. However, the only way people can solve this issue is by being more mindful, and by acknowledging that not everything they see on social media is the full truth. If people start acknowledging that, they will live a more stress-free life. Another reason for the raised stress levels in our time is rising unemployment rates. This is because students often graduate from college with only academic knowledge, but they have minimal, if any, work experience. Thus, they will find it challenging to get a job once they graduate. An example of this is the number of fresh graduates who need to pay for a full year internship or more to get work experience. I believe that universities should implement more advanced educational programs, where students can get experience within college years, so they will be well prepared for work-life once they finish their education. In conclusion, although there are reasons for the higher stress levels that face this modern age, like social media and unemployment, luckily, there are solutions to these problems. The solutions, in my opinion, are that the community should be woke of the truth of social media, and universities should prepare students better for the workforce.