Grandparents take care of the children when their parents are out at work. What are the advantages and possible disadvantages of this?

There is no doubt that grandparents have a significant role in looking after their grandchildren. Nowadays, parents leave their kids with their grandparents when they go to work, and although this phenomenon has its benefits, like bonding between the grandparents and the children, it can have a few setbacks, and in this essay I will discuss both of them. On one hand, when kids spend time with their grandparents they develop a healthy relationship with them. For example, when children feel that their grandparents have a significant role in their life, they are more likely to feel well-cared for and more loved. Furthermore, parents could save money that way, because while grandparents will take care of their kids for free, hiring a babysitter would cost them money. On the other hand, there could be drawbacks to this behaviour. Firstly, older people do not have competent cognitive abilities. This is because when people get older, their brain function deteriorates, as a result, they could unintentionally put themselves and their grandchildren in danger. For instance, they could set the house on fire by accident. Second, even though the elderly have a special fondness for their grandchildren, they might not have the energy to take care of the special needs of a child at all times. If they needed sleep, for instance, they would not be able to get it with a child in the house. To sum up, despite the fact that leaving kids to their grandparents can have various benefits, like special parental bonds and saving money, there could be possible drawbacks, like exposing the kids to hazards, and putting too much pressure on the older ones.