The rise of social media has affercted personal relation ships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communicating outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has social and personal relationships as a whole. This writer argues that the advantage of getting in touch easily is overshadowed by the drawbacks of lack face-to-face communication and distraction. The foremost benefit of using social media is that people all around the world can contact each other easier and more efficiently. Before the invention of technology like social media, people used to write letters to talk to another person at a far distance, but it took a long period for receivers to get the mail. However, individuals can communicate more efficiently just by a few seconds to type and send, on the other side, receivers can get it within a second. Take a look at the COVID-19 pandemic, citizens were forbidden from going out by the local distancing rule, social media played a vital role in bringing everyone together. Nevertheless, the disadvantage of communicating through social media is experiencing a lack of face-to-face talk. Because of the innovation of smartphones, individuals can video call their relatives and friends, however, if they rely on them too much, they could easily lose their relationships because they don’t have “physical interaction”. For instance, if a company want to cooperate with other companies, they would have a meeting rather than sitting in a room and call each other. Another drawback that could be considered is getting distracted from the work. Many people, especially students, are distracted from their studies because of chatting, it is now providing them to make lots of relationships with various people. Having a wide range of friends all around you could be good but don’t let them affect your life and work. In conclusion, using social media to communicate is one of the best ways to get in touch with others but it was outweighed by the lack of face-to-face interaction and distraction.