Although most people are richer than the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes of stress in modern life, and how could stress be reduced?

Initiated by the industrial revolution, the development of human civilization has been boomed with modern technological innovations. Though even a person from the lowest social echelon today possesses more money than a peasant in the middle ages, distress has become the most common monster, attacking every nook and corner of the world. This essay elaborates on the reasons for high stress in this century and possible ways to overcome the disaster. Firstly, the high level of mental pressure can be attributed mainly to the high competitiveness and the altered reality. Out of that, the urge to outrun others comes from the lack of opportunities, especially in academia and the job market due to population growth. For example, more than millions of applications for a position in a developed country get rejected, rising the anxiety among the would-be applicants. Furthermore, social media and other mainstream television programs create fantasy lives, that are hard to achieve in reality. For an instance, the Instagram episodes of the famous Kardashian family have been found to make a majority of people, desperate and depressed. Nevertheless, this catastrophe is not without any solutions. Out of them, the modified version of an ancient technique called mindfulness plays a vital role. For an instance, mindfulness meditation has resulted in a significantly lesser amount of helplessness among psychiatric patients. Another major strategy to uplift the mental status is the relaxation via nature, due to our unbreakable evolutionary bond towards flora and fauna. Moreover, healing techniques like forest therapy have been found to be effective as antistress agents. In conclusion, today's world results in more stress, albeit the accumulation of wealth. The continuous competition and unrealistic celebrity lifestyles have led to this disaster. Nevertheless, living in the moment, and being immersed in nature can resolve these issues.