Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no holistic development of a country without a consistent growth of its public health sector. Some argue that the best way for this improvement is by increasing sports facilities, however is it really the principal way compared to all the other measures? I do not believe so. Primarily, the argument for the notion, is that sports facilities by definition will obviously provide citizens more space to engage in various sports which essentially means more potential and availability for physical activity to be carried out which undoubtedly is one of the major factors in promoting healthier lifestyles. Furthermore, it introduces more exciting ways for individuals to work out. For instance, a lot of people who are unaware of the variety of ways in which they can carry out their daily movement particularly benefit from having a sports centre nearby where they can be introduced to options other than just having a walk around the park in the name of fitness. Having said all that, it is not sufficient enough for improvement on a more national level. Issues regarding drinking water quality and the healthcare system, concern public health far more significantly than personal physical fitness does. Therefore, I believe government's monetary investments should instead go into making healthcare more affordable and accessible for every socio-economic class across the country. For example, farmers, who make up a large occupational sector in India, live in small villages but have no less physical expenditure than an athlete does, yet are victims to most illnesses due to lack of hospitals in said villages and poor quality of water being supplied there. All in all, sports facilities are undeniably an excellent way to promote public health but I cannot agree that it is the best one. There are more dire factors like drinking water and hospital infrastructures, which if tended to first, could revolutionise a country's health.