The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People generally use the library to get some information from books as well as borrow books for entertainment purposes. However, due to advancements in technology modern libraries are providing computer and internet facilities too. Therefore, some argue that authorities should not waste space and money on these high technology libraries. however, I partially agree with this notion. In past when there was no choice of resources for getting information other than books and someone has to waste hours to find a relevant book and then find the desired topic from the book. But now with the advancement of technology, we have easy alternatives to get knowledge in the blink of an eye with the help of computers and the internet. Moreover, this could save time and money too, because these are just investments with which we can make a profit for decades. Furthermore, with the help of these computers, someone can ask for information about organisations and institutes by mailing them who cannot afford their personal compute. For example, a month ago I wanted some information about a course from a renowned university but I had no internet connection so I used the public library for this purpose. On the other hand, if we just consider it is a public library and mostly used by the retired people who generally prefer books to read and finding some information rather than gadgets. Then these high tech libraries seem to be a waste of money and space. Because there is hardly any person who uses these CD's, DVD's to seek information. Hence, in this case, authorities should notice which library people demand high technology libraries and then build these libraries according to the demands and facilities population demands. In conclusion, public libraries play an important role in society by giving an opportunity to the public to remain updated and intellectual. Therefore, having these high technology libraries add more facility to the general public but these should be in limited number so that the resources seem not to be wasted.