Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones, and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The problems caused due to over-crowding in metro cities are inevitable. There are multiple issues caused due to over-population, and various measures need to be taken by the government and individuals to solve this issue. The foremost concern of overpopulation is an increase in air pollution. More cars are on road to meet the transportation demand of the rising population which leads to more pollution and depletes the air quality of the surrounding. For instance, in Delhi people prefer to self-drive for daily travel which causes pollution, and as a result, the AQI of Delhi remains between 250-300 which is deadly for a longer time. Additionally, it leads to more unemployment because the supply of jobs is limited and cannot meet the demand of the increased population. For example, most companies receive thousands of applications for one job role in highly crowded cities. Thus, overpopulation not only damages environmental conditions but also affects the careers of many folks. To tackle these concerns, the government and individuals can collectively improve the condition. Firstly, the government can improve public transport infrastructure and promotes its usage by reducing the fair of travel. On an individual level, people can prefer using the metro for their daily commute. This can reduce the number of vehicles on the road which can improve environmental conditions. Secondly, individuals can have better family planning and government can benefit smaller families by providing free schooling considering they have a single child. Lastly, ministries can provide subsidies to industrialists so as to encourage them to build more industries in tier-2 cities, which would increase employment in those cities and people can shift back to their towns with better career options in hand. Thus, these concerns can be tackled effectively with the collective efforts of ministries and nations. To conclude, though over-crowding can lead to pollution and unemployment in metro cities with the efforts of each folk and government these issues can be solved.