People think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In recent decades, we have seen an increase in the number of international sports competition events. It is true that there are some benefits for a country that hosts the big sports event in the world, but in my opinion, it will get many potential risks which should be carefully considered. One should note here that, hosting an international sports event would enhance the country’s reputation and boost the economy. Through advertising, for example, the government can introduce their cultures and history, as well as promote the tourism industry. Besides that, in addition to many athletes who attend and compete in the event, there are others people who come along with them such as trainers, nutritionists and assistants. Many sports fans will also come to support their team. All of them require accommodations, food and entertainment which in turn bring in a lot of revenue. In contrast with the above benefits, it still has many potential risks when a nation hosts an international sports event. In order to uphold a large event, many things need to be prepared, and sometimes it exceeds the ability of the organizer. For example, the abundance number of fans from attending countries may cause actions which are over the top and rowdy or prepare not enough resources for multilingual communication with foreign teams. As a result, there are many mistakes that can happen and affect the country’s reputation. Moreover, organizing a big event needs a lot of money on infrastructure, stadiums and etc but it would not get used much later on, for example, in many Olympic venues in Beijing. This is a waste when the local people have to give up their lands or houses for those infrastructures or stadiums to be built. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it might have some benefits when the country hosts an international sports event, but in my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages when we do this event.