Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, more people argue that kids should not only focus on reading children ’s storybooks which is wasting their time, and they should do other more meaningful activities instead. I partly agree with it, because reading storybooks is a good start for kids development, however, we should balance both mental and physical activities, so some games and sports could train up their bodies, neither of them should be ignored. To begin with, reading storybooks is one of the effective ways for kids to develop their brains, languages, or even emotions. The colourful pictures, the funny characters and meaningful stories could attract the children and also inspire their imaginations. Different levels of storybooks are tailor-made for the different stages of kids development. For example, the storybooks with sounds, pop up pictures and special textures are designed for infants or toddlers, which could stimulate their perceptions. In addition, it also could train up the kids ' concentration by reading them stories. Although reading storybooks could develop children's mental abilities, the parents still need to pay attention to their body development. Playing games or doing sports with parents or peers can train the muscles and bodies, and the interaction could improve their communication skills. Small games, like inserting the coins into a money bank, can train up the finger muscles of the children, which is essential for their development. In conclusion, reading plays an important role in a child’s development. By reading at a young age, children can stimulate their imaginations, however, other hobbies such as sports should not be ignored.