Some people think that we live in a society where money and posessions are given too much importance. Others believe that this is improving our lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary society, materalism and capitalism are the main themes in our everyday lives. Some believe the significance of money has been overemphasised; while others thought that this can substantially improve our standard of living. In this essay, I shall put forth both sides of the discussion and give my own opinion on this issue. Money is an important part of our everyday lives. It goes without saying that money is essential for everyday living, including paying bills, providing necessities like food and drinks, and for various services we need. Moreover, capitalism can bring in wealth for the society. Tax for goods and other services provide revenue for the community, which in turn, can help develop various industries like commerce, manufacturing and retailing. This will boost employement rates and sharpen the competitive edge of our society, thus improving standard of living for its citizens. However, I also believe money has been overate. The primary reason is because there are many things which cannot be achieved with money. Although money is extremely powerful and useful, some essentials simply cannot be purchased. Health and happiness are some striking examples which cannot be bought even with abundance of wealth. Furthermore, love and care from friends and family members are priceless, and no amount cash can replace this. Thus, it is obvious that we should not attach to much value to money and wealth. In conclusion, money has many advantages but it cannot be viewed as omnipotent. I am inclined to believe, apart from money, health, happiness, love and care also play strong roles and we should not place too much importance on money and possession.