In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and tv shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The mainstream media has started blooming without giving much attention to the effect of their core themes recently. Especially, in any medium, those that involved with crime seem to gain more rankings and views. This essay explores possible causes for the phenomenon, providing an opinion of the writer. Firstly, the choice of the violent genre for the art can be attributed to the essential features of the modern materialistic world. In such a society, consumerism plays a vital role rather than moral values. This shifts the focus on the profit gains via any means. Therefore, many artists prefer to use more popular aspects; crime, action, and violence, as the focus of their work. The public preference for excitement is due to the monotonous lifestyles of the 21st century. For example, it has been found that the majority of people choose the adrenaline rush of a thriller to compensate for the boredom. However, the aftereffects of thrilling entertainment might not be comforting as they may seem. The criminal behaviours watched tend to become a norm of a viewer. For instance, children who are exposed to action tv programs, tend to bully their fellow students at the school significantly. Moreover, the mimicking of illegal acts and habits has given rise to more illegal activities in society. To elaborate further, common people more often than not hero-worship the robbers or the assassins, trying to copy their actions. In conclusion, illicit activities have become common topics in printed or screen-based artwork as of cash gain. Nevertheless, my opinion is that this brings out clouds to our future through a steep rise of copycat wrong-doers.