Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental problems are one of the international issues for a long time. The disappearance of certain kinds of plants and animals is a major issue these days. At the same time, some people assume that other environmental problems should be taken into account. I am in the favour of the latter opinion. On the one hand, the decline in the number of vegetation and animals has the potential to put all creatures’ lives at risk. As the number of mature mammals drops, the birth rate of these animals will also decrease. While such a decrease affects creatures’ survival, human beings also may become the victim of the issue. People’s lives are heavily dependent on other creatures and interconnections between people and animals are complex. For instance, vegetation and animals are used in daily products. Chopsticks are made from trees. A decrease in the figure of trees will make the production of chopsticks difficult because there is no replacement. Moreover, food such as milk and beef are also a case in point. People cannot take enough nutrients from them, leading to an unhealthy lifestyle. On the other hand, looking at the loss of creatures is not enough to solve environmental problems. The root cause of the reduction in creature numbers should be considered. It is air pollution that triggers the dying out of greenery and animals. As a matter of fact, an increasing amount of CO2 induces a rise in the average temperature. This change contributes adversely to the accident of flora and animals. In Africa, where lots of kinds of animals live, the high temperature is the cause of desertification. The free area has been reduced, and because of this, the plants living there are almost dying out. Meanwhile, for animals, the disappearance of vegetation means the loss of their habitats. Given these facts, it is clear that air pollution should be solved as soon as possible. To conclude, although the decreasing number of plants and animals is risky if it is left unsolved, the root cause of the problem should be faced immediately. In my opinion, rather than the loss of creatures, there are other issues that are more important.