Some people believe that city zoos are cruel and should be closed. Others, however, believe that city zoos can preserve wild animals for future generations. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A number of people argue that city zoological gardens are inhumane and ought to be abolished, while others say that they help to safeguard the existence of wild creatures for all future members of the public. I believe that while the development of breeding programs contributes to the preservation of endangered species, the poor conditions that many animals held in captivity are kept in make the existence of zoos unacceptable. On the one hand, there are many projects in existence in zoological parks around the world where species facing extinction have been successfully bred in captivity and their numbers increased substantially. This is important for ensuring the survival of animals under threat from poaching and the destruction of their natural environments. A good example of this is the Great Beaver which nearly died out because of logging and mining activities that are destroying its habitat. Today, half of the Great Beavers were raised in captivity. On the other hand, a significant percentage of zoos house their animals in cramped cages with very little space to move around or behave naturally. This can lead to them becoming depressed and stressed as well as suffering physically through lack of exercise. A friend of mine recently visited a wildlife park while on holiday abroad and was very upset to see tigers pacing up and down in narrow, bare pens and eagles in enclosures so small that they were unable to fly. In brief, any animals in captivity have lost their freedom. In conclusion, although zoos do help to safeguard shrinking populations of particular species. In my view, the daily suffering experienced by many caged creatures due to unsuitable living conditions amounts to cruelty and such entities should be closed.