Many office authorities impose restriction on smoking within the offices premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom. What are your opinions on this?

It is rightly said that "Smoking is injurious to health". However, after knowing the fact that it is harmful there are some people who are used to it. In various countries like India, Smoking is totally banned while working in an organization. Moreover, some state governments make a law to prohibit it in all public places as well. Although, many critics are opposing this change. According to them, It will take away their freedom to do anything they want to do. Yet, They are unaware of the situation which can be caused by consuming it. Firstly, It will affect the health of people. For instance, Those consuming cigarettes are found to have more respiratory diseases and problems in the lungs. Secondly, Consumption of these things at the workplace can pose a threat to its surroundings. For example, A person who is having his cigarette and left it on a file can cause a fire in the office premise. To avoid these circumstances, Lawmakers made these policies in order to safeguard the interest of companies as well as the community as a whole. Moreover, It is the foremost responsibility of the government to ensure that no citizen is eating or drinking the product which is harmful to health. To make their employees fit and healthy, Some employers imposed a restriction on smoking. To exemplify, There are various places where smoking is prohibited and any person who is founded guilty will be penalized with a fine. To conclude, I would suggest that higher authorities should make stringent laws to prevent society from this evil. In my opinion, the measures adopted by some states are for the good of the public and should be encouraged more.