Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

According to some people, new technology has strengthened social connections; however, others think that now we are more distant because of it. In my opinion, both these views are partially true and it really depends on how they are used. There are several reasons why it is believed that modern technology has brought people together. First of all, it is now possible to chat with people very far away. In this way, you can talk even with people in a different country or town. For instance, workers that are abroad can keep in touch with their parents and friends, which was not possible just 50 years ago. Moreover, it is clear that it's easier to meet new people. In fact, dating apps allow you to discover new people, make friends and even fall in love. A good example of this is represented by the couples that have met online. However, there is no doubt that online social networks also have negative effects. That is why it is believed that they have driven us apart. Many people believe that the positive impact of them is just an illusion. This is because new communication technologies are addictive, and, as a result, it is easy to spend a large amount of time on them. For example, you can see quite often people at restaurants who look at their phone screens rather than talking. To sum up, new technology has brought a huge impact on how social connections work. On one hand it is easier to make friends and talk with them even if they are on the other side of the world, however, it is difficult to stop using them and talk with real people. In my belief, their use should be balanced in order to be positive.