Many people today put personal information online for the needs of daily lives (e.g., shopping, banking, and social network). Is it a positive or negative development?

Human beings are incredibly dependent on the internet for numerous things. Most people share their personal data on online websites for their convenience. Usually, customers are requested to save credit cards and other details on social media sites which are over and above the purpose. From my perspective, we should not brazenly make our details available. I will further support my arguments in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, there is a rampant increase in the number of hackers disrupting our privacy. In other words, by phishing, hackers are withdrawing cash and transferring money. For instance, cybercriminals may deceive people by the use of malicious software and empty their bank accounts. Although saving credit card details on the gadgets makes the transaction faster, the risk of falling prey to unethical hackers amplifies. Furthermore, if people use similar login passwords or pin numbers for various bank accounts then it will be a smooth process for carrying out illegal activities. Apart from that, one may clone social media accounts like Twitter or LinkedIn and propagate fallacious messages, and get under the radar if the text pertains to politics or the country's economies. Furthermore, when one overwhelms online sites with excessive details, one may face terrible consequences. To elaborate on this, an individual might be stalked on sites like Facebook and be eventually followed and become a victim of hideous crimes, such as stealing or kidnapping or even rape. Besides this, people ’s lives become an open book to the world if they exhibit their social life on Instagram. Moreover, when people meet each other they may not have any conversation topics as they already know everything. Consequently, the virtual world would be more intriguing than actual life. To summarise, as cybercrime is rising day by day resulting in various fraudulent activities, a user should avoid disclosing information to various sites to minimise any mishap. In my opinion, conversing and unravelling stories with friends is more enthralling compared to putting everything online.