Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, since the beginning of the vastly grown industrial age, mankind is facing multiple environmental issues that require proper solutions and remedies at all levels. While it may be hard to point out the single most serious problem of our age, some may argue that the extinction of certain animals and plant species can be marked as the most debilitating issue of today. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate, and I will discuss them now. On the one hand, opponents of this view highlight the importance of saving species as an important way to sustain a healthy ecosystem. It is certainly a valid point because maintaining a healthy ecosystem can provide various benefits for humankind and losing even a single species can have disastrous impacts on the environment. Moreover, without such an ecological balance, life on earth can be more challenging. Secondly, there are certain species that directly help to sustain important cycles on earth. For example, without bees who pollinate our plants to grow, all the animals that feed on plants and humans who are also largely dependent on agriculture and livestock for food supply would likely struggle. On the other hand, opponents of this argument point out that the loss of certain animals and plant species is certainly not the only significant problem of our age, because there are other equally important issues. For instance, deforestation which threatens the sustainability of trees and other vegetation can lead to various environmental consequences such as climate change, increased greenhouse gases, and loss of natural habitats. Furthermore, they add that global warming along with other problems may pose serious risks for all of the living species on earth and certainly not just human beings. In conclusion, I tend to agree that while protecting certain animals and plant species from going extinct should be important, there are other more concerning issues namely global warming and deforestation which can ultimately affect life on earth.